Upcoming events

Log in

Mid-Atlantic Group Psychotherapy Society

The Mid-Atlantic Group Psychotherapy Society (MAGPS) is a regional affiliate of the American Group Psychotherapy Association that serves group therapists in Virginia, West Virginia, Maryland and the District of Columbia.

Log in


The Mid-Atlantic Group Psychotherapy Society (MAGPS) was among the first regional affiliates to be organized by the American Group Psychotherapy Association.

In 1957, a small group headed by Edward Ascher of Baltimore, Maryland started MAGPS. By 1963, an executive board, by-laws, and regular educational meetings were in place. The Society has thrived ever since, fostering the growth and quality of group psychotherapy and providing a space where practitioners of all disciplines can come together for personal and professional development.

Over the years MAGPS has provided intimate retreats; large conferences; a newsletter and website with both organizational news and clinical articles written by members; training programs; a membership directory; scholarships; and leadership training.

MAGPS has hosted three AGPA national meetings, the most recent in February, 2008. MAGPS has entered into training partnerships with other local institutions. MAGPS proudly claims among its membership a large number of leaders in the field of group psychotherapy including those honored with nationally recognized awards such as the prestigious Distinguished Fellow of the American Group Psychotherapy Association award.

Today, MAGPS continues the mission developed by the founders to provide training and education in group psychotherapy. MAGPS remains one of the few affiliated societies that is truly regional, serving and drawing on the talents of group therapists from the District of Columbia, Maryland, Virginia, and West Virginia.


1962 Edward Asher
1963 Leon Lurie
1964 William Lordi
1965 Beryce MacLennan
1966 Isaiah Zimmerman
1967 Morris Parloff
1968 Arnold Peterson
1969 Unknown

1970 William Gibbs
1971 Theodore Feldberg
1972 John Boriello
1973 Seymour Rabinowitz
1974 (MAGPS not operating)
1976 Beatrice Liebenberg
1977 Stanley Berent
1979 John Boriello

1981 John Dluhy
1983 Bernard Williams
1985 Melvin Stern
1987 Beryce MacLennan
1989 Daryl Yoder


1991 Adiva Sotzsky
1993 George Saiger
1995 Thomas Wessel
1997 Carolyn Angelo
1999 Nina Brown

2001 Emily Lape
2004 Bob Schulte
2007 Lenore Pomerance
2009 Reginald Nettles

2011 Farooq Mohyuddin
2013 Maryetta Andrews-Sachs
2015 Nancy Hafkin
2017 Lorraine Wodiska
2019 Cristina Secarea


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software